Done and Dusted …2019 Akwa Ibom State University Students’ Union election (+VIDEO) - aksu360

Post Top Ad

Done and Dusted …2019 Akwa Ibom State University Students’ Union election (+VIDEO)

Share This

Winners have emerged at the end of the just concluded 2019 Students’ Union election of Akwa Ibom State University. The exercise which was held Friday, witnessed an impressive participation by students of Akwa Ibom State University in both campuses.

During the electronic voting exercise, registered and duly accredited voters were required to logon to the election website, vote and monitor the 4 hour exercise. Earlier before the exercise, each voter was handed via SMS, a secured voting token in order to participate in the process. A situation room was also created where the contestants, their agents and other election officials sat to track the progress of the exercise from start to finish.

Speaking at the end of the exercise, the Students’ Affairs Dean of Akwa Ibom State University, Dr. Aniefiok Otu, expressed satisfaction at the conduct of the students during the process. He commended and singled-out for praise, the Akwa Ibom State University ICT Directorate for the delivering such an robust and user friendly election application at very short notice. He wondered why such a system has not been adopted by the Nigerian Government over the years.

Announcing the results, the Chairman of the Akwa Ibom State University Students’ Union Electoral Commission, Dr. Clement Bassey, declared that at the conclusion of the voting exercise, the following candidates had satisfied the requirements of the law and have emerged victorious:
  • Senator Samuel Eno James  - Students’ Union President
  • Miss Veronica Augustine Ukpong  - Students’ Union Vice President
  • Ufanabsi Daniel Ekanem  - Students’ Union Secretary General
  • Mr. Akwaowo Paulinus Mbo  - Students’ Union Assistant Secretary
  • Miss Dorathy Jimmy Edeke - Students’ Union Treasurer
  • Unwana Aniefiok Udofot  - Students’ Union Director of Welfare
  • Mr. Aniefre Simon Akpan  - Students’ Union Director of Information
  • Mr. Anietienteabasi Edet Udo  - Students’ Union Director of Sports
  • Mkpoikanke Friday James - Students’ Union Director of Socials
  • Kingsley Augustine Ekanem - Students’ Union Director of Transport
  • Micah Favour Udoekong – Member of Parliament representing Faculty of Agriculture
  • Wisdom Sylvester Ekot - Member of Parliament representing Faculty of Agriculture
  • Abasiodiong Etim James - Member of Parliament representing Faculty of Physical Sciences
  • Ernest Emmanuel Osung - Member of Parliament representing Faculty of Education
  • Esther Idongesit Ufot - Member of Parliament representing Faculty of Biological Sciences

Dr. Clement Bassey took time-off to commend the University Vice Chancellor, Prof. Eno Ibanga for the interest and burning passion that he has in the welfare of students of the University. He stated that over the years, the Vice Chancellor has proven over and again to be a man of great vision and an apostle of excellence.

Mr. Benjamin Ibiok, who was a contender for the post of the Students’ Union President, has meanwhile accepted defeat and has taken a bold step of congratulating his opponent, Sen. Samuel Eno James, over his emergence as the Students Union President elect.

I want to heartily congratulate my opponent Sen. Samuel Eno James on his emergence as the winner of the election, I declare that I will do all that is within my power to support the progress of this institution
Mr. Benjamin further pledged to join hands together with the incoming Students’ Union Government to move the institution forward.
Mr. Benjamin Ibiok
On the other hand, Sen. Samuel Eno James in a statement after the declaration of result pledged to run all all-inclusive Government, where unity will a major hallmark. He once more reiterated his campaign slogan that “togetherness brings possibilities”. He called on all to join hands build the Tehila Republic of our dream.

The date for the inauguration exercise of the newly elected officials of the Akwa Ibom State University Students Union will be announced in due course.
More pictures when you continue...

Vice Dean, Students' Affairs, Akwa Ibom State University

Students' Union President elect, Sen. Samuel Eno James


No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad